Back to top

PRO-DAIRY Increases Agricultural Engineering Capacity for BMP Implementation

With funding from New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission (NEIWPCC) by the US Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) in support of the Lake Champlain Basin ProgramPRO-DAIRY teamed up with Vermont Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and The Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets (VAAFM) to educate engineers to increase the private sector agricultural engineering capacity in the Vermont Lake Champlain Basin.

PRO-DAIRY provided two one-day training sessions, consisting of both classroom discussions and on-farm visits to describe the planning, design and construction aspects of Best Management Practices (BMP). The PowerPoint presentations used in the classroom are available below as pdfs (Adobe Reader software required). The private sector firms that participated can now better adapt agricultural engineering projects that are compliant with current NRCS-VT standards into their service model. The list of those engineers who participated and were willing to have their contact information available are included in the list of participants below.

Presentations

Participants

Participants in the First Session 12/14/16 emphasizing manure storage and manure transfer  
First Name Last Name Company Email
Rob Allen USDA NRCS - Vermont roboallen56@gmail.com
Jessica Buckley VAAFM jessica.buckley@vermont.gov
Chantal  Beliveau EnSave Inc.  chantallouise@yahoo.com
Peter Cross Cross  Consulting Engineers pcross@crossconsultingengineers.com
Christine Gingras Stone Environmental cgingras@stone-env.com
Benjamin Heath Donald L. Hamlin Consulting, Engineers, Inc. bheath@dlhce.com
Jeff Tucker Dubois-King jtucker@dubois-king.com
       
Participants in the Second Session 5/11/17 emphasizing milkhouse waste  and barnyard runoff   
Rob Allen USDA NRCS - Vermont roboallen56@gmail.com
Jessica Buckley VAAFM jessica.buckley@vermont.gov
Christine Gingras Stone Environmental cgingras@stone-env.com
Richard Hamlin Donald L. Hamlin Consulting, Engineers, Inc. rhamlin@dlhce.com
Benjamin Heath Donald L. Hamlin Consulting, Engineers, Inc. bheath@dlhce.com
Jeffrey Kershner Donald L. Hamlin Consulting, Engineers, Inc. jkershner@dlhce.com
Kim Scamman Blue Farm, LLC kimscamman@hotmail.com